Monday, 23 May 2011


It's with great pleasure we announce the latest releases on our label SLUM DUNK MUSIC.

They are: Tetine's 11th artist album 'Voodoo Dance & Other Stories & the compilation Uncorrupted Tropical Wave (1984-2011) featuring great hard-to find music by Duplexx, Satanique Samba Trio, Shiva Las Vegas, Tetine, Karine Alexandrino, Mueptemo, W, Divergencia Socialista, Objeto Amarelo & O Grito Mudo.

Both albums are available at all good stores including Itunes, Amazon, Turntable Lab, Boomkat etc etc.. Buy it here!

Uncorrupted Tropical Wave (1984-2011) is a compilation of tropically unconventional Brazilian music produced exclusively by DIY recording artists from several parts of Brazil - featuring unobvious tracks by Duplexx, Satanique Samba Trio, Tetine, Shiva Las Vegas, Objeto Amarelo, Karine Alexandrino, Mueptemo, W, Divergencia Socialista & O Grito Mudo.

Borne out of the Slum Dunk radio sessions - the weekly radio program hosted by Eliete Mejorado & Bruno Verner aired on Resonance Fm 104.4 in London from 2002 to 2008 - Uncorrupted Tropical Wave (1984-2011) gives continuity to releases such as Slum Dunk Presents Funk Carioca (Mr Bongo 2004) & The Sexual Life of The Savages - Underground Post Punk from Sao Paulo, (Soul Jazz Records 2005) breakthrough albums curated by Tetine

Based on a specific scene of overlooked Brazilian artists who have continuously produced music independently for a number of years around the cities of Sao Paulo, Fortaleza, Belo Horizonte, Rio de Janeiro & Brasilia, as well as, artists who have at some point worked together on music collaborations or art projects, the album brings an unusual mix of early tropical post punk, baile funk, post-samba, electronica, experimental drum machine pop, lo-fi, spoken word, new wave & ambient pieces, written between 1984-2011 and mostly self-released locally from cassette tapes to CDs and white labels.

It comes with 17 hard-to-find tracks written by local musicians, poets, artists & writers who kept their music identity intact along the years.

Uncorrupted Tropical Wave(1984-2011) is a fresh sample of the uncorrupted, politically inventive, naïve, dissent and unforced anti-mainstream sound actions that took place in the country as opposed to Brazil’s now well-known mainstream pop or the usual clichés made-for-export. Dig it & you'll find great music to your ears!


1. Lick My Favela – Tetine

2. Nova Quale – Duplexx

3. Me Chupa – Shiva Las Vegas

4. Ana Lidia Ressurection – Satanique Samba Trio

5. Shiva – Tetine

6. Meu Nome e Igual – Karine Alexandrino

7. Samba do Triz – Shiva Las Vegas vs Tetine

8. Tundra – Objeto Amarelo

9. Troglodita Predileto – Karine Alexandrino

10. Medo – Muepetmo

11. Futuro Sombra – Objeto Amarelo

12. Overgloss – Shiva Las Vegas

13. Thomas Morus Dub/Aqui & Aqui – Divergencia Socialista

14. Warplane Couple – W

15. Detetive G – O Grito Mudo

16. LCDCFA!! – Muepetmo

17. Wego – W

More info on our releases here:

Tuesday, 19 April 2011

Tetine - Voodoo Dance

Tetine's new video for Voodoo Dance, a seven minute ride to alter the universe - track taken from the album 'Voodoo Dance & Other Stories' OUT NOW on Slum Dunk Music.

watch here:

Tuesday, 12 April 2011

Tetine's new album Voodoo Dance & Other Stories OUT NOW!

We're happy to announce the release of Tetine's new album Voodoo Dance & Other Stories this thursday, April 15th available at all good shops!

Voodoo Dance & Other Stories is Tetine’s 11th album out on Slum Dunk Music.
The new record is a follow up to From A Forest Near You (2010) & Let Your X’s Be Y’s released on Soul Jazz Records in 2008. It marks the end of their Tropical Punk album trilogy.

Recorded in East London throughout 2010, Voodoo Dance is a dark & luminous collection of unconventional electronic pop - featuring an unusual set of reflective & atmospheric numbers marrying Tetine’s mutant tropical dissonant disco sound with beautiful nostalgic love songs, electro funks, spoken word pieces & experimental soundscapes.

Voodoo Dance & Other Stories is evocative of early classic electronic - via an unconditional love for the sounds of Kraftwerk, Brian Eno, Suicide & Can - but it's also heavily influenced by Brazilian artists such as Os Mutantes, Paulinho Da Viola, Novos Baianos & filmmaker Rogerio Sganzerla - to whom we dedicated the entire Tropical Punk trilogy.

There is also a second collaboration with LA duo Howard Amb on ‘Dance To Death’ & a brand new one with Brazilian one-man band Polipolar on the track ‘Chupa a Referencia’, sung in Portuguese.

Voodoo Dance is an attempt to alter the universe. Dig it and you’ll find music of great beauty.

All songs written, produced & recorded by Bruno Verner and Eliete Mejorado.

Buy it here: